nails

“I don’t like plain nails. I get sad.” – Zooey Deschanel

nails

If you know me at all, you know I have a problem. A nail polish problem. It’s real y’all. It’s pretty rare for my nails to be bare, and I have an ungodly amount of colors in my collection. Today I want to talk about my favorite colors, brands, and even a bit about gel polish – since I do my own at home. I’ll use basically any brand that has great colors, but I’ve broken them down for you all based on brand below:

  1. OPI – I have mostly dark colors in OPI, it’s just what I’m drawn to. I’m a big fan of their glitters as well, just hate removing them because it takes forever!

    IMG_8802

    The flash is washing these out a bit, but from left to right:
    Dating a Royal – perfect blue | Eurso-Euro  – bright blue that wears well | Lincoln Park After Midnight

  2. Essie – by far my biggest collection. I love all their colors! These favorite of mine are part of their permanent line.

    IMG_8807

    Butler Please – my favorite bright blue ever, but chips easily | Bikini So Teeny – baby blue | Tart Deco – my go-to for summer | Bahama Mama – perfect oxblood fall color

  3. CND Vinlyux – this brand is new to me, I first heard about it from Amanda at Girl About Columbus. It wears really well! I recommend using their top coat.

    IMG_8809

    Creekside | Pink Bikini | Weekly Top Coat 

  4. Nails Inc. Victoria Beckham collection – I found this duo at Nordstrom and I love it!! She only made these two colors but they last longer than any of my other brands. I wish there were more colors! 

     

    Bamboo White | Judo Red

  5. Base coat/top coat

    IMG_8806
    LA Girl Calcium Builder – great to strengthen nails if you change your color often! | Out The Door top coat – this dries incredibly fast!

  6. Gel Polish – by far my favorite brand of gel polish is by IBD. I wore “Dolomite” all fall and winter, it’s an awesome dark reddish brown with a sparkle.

    IMG_8798

    Base coat | Top coat | Dolomite gel polish

    Dolomite swatch:

    ac3a76367a365052f9b2a231aa35e603

  7. Gel system – I use the gel system that used to be offered at Sephora. It’s not available anymore but any light will do. Just make sure it’s compatible with the polish you have – LED or UV.

    a6f07d4d69596c23aa23994ce864f53e_best

    UV light


    That’s all for now! What are your favorite nail polish colors? Let me know in the comments below!

    Sara orange (1)

4 thoughts on ““I don’t like plain nails. I get sad.” – Zooey Deschanel

Leave a Reply

